Since 1992, La Plata Open Space Conservancy has functioned as a private, non profit, 501(c)(3) charitable organization serving southwestern Colorado.

Valley Pano

Based in Durango, Colorado, LPOSC holds conservation easements in six counties — La Plata, Montezuma, Hinsdale, Ouray, Archuleta, and San Juan.

LPOSC has worked to protect over 20,000 acres of land through conservation easements that have been donated by private and municipal landowners.

LPOSC is proud to have aided in the protection of an additional 10,000 acres protected by partnering land trusts and other land management organizations. These lands host qualities of significant value to our community, including open space, wildlife habitat, recreational parks, working family farms and ranches, and historical and archaeological resources.

The number of acres LPOSC protects increases each year, as landowners seek permanent ways to protect their property for the benefit of their family, the resources, the community and future generations.

Who We Are


Christy Curd

Stewardship Director


Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is an unpaid, all-volunteer board devoted to the support and operations of La Plata Open Space Conservancy.

  • Jerry Zink
  • Ted Compton
  • Adam Reeves
  • Brian Magee
  • Sandy Friedley
  • Chase LaCroix
  • Debra May
  • Elizabeth Long
  • Jenn Clayton
  • Rick Borkowski

In addition to the support of our Board, we are deeply appreciative of countless volunteers, interns, professionals, landowners and financial supporters who make our work possible. Thank you!

Photo Credits

River Fisherman
  • Joel Caldwell
  • Rich Donley
  • Rich Fletcher
  • Chris Warren
  • Anthony Culpepper
  • Jamie Johnson
  • Glenn Tinnin
  • Matt McFee
  • Hannah Johnson
  • Amy Schwarzbach